Celebrating 535 Years of Championship Performance

By Laura Bennett

On Wednesday, May 13, members of the Texas Athletics Department including Frank Erwin Center staff members at The University of Texas at Austin gathered to celebrate individuals who have reached remarkable milestones in their careers at Texas Athletics during the annual Breakfast of Champions. Thirty-one individuals were honored for their combined 535 years of hard work, dedication and passion for their job and many more came out to show their support and gratitude for the award recipients. Originally called the Survivor’s Breakfast, the Breakfast of Champions has recognized employees for their devotion to achieving excellence at The University of Texas through Championship Performance for over 25 years.

Congratulations to each of our service award winners! We would not be where we are today without you!

5 Year Champions:
Jorge Arredondo-Reyes – Frank Erwin Center, Facility Operations
Natalie England – Texas Athletics, Creative Services
Raul Robles – Texas Athletics, Facility Operations
Marcus Tubbs – Texas Athletics, Football
Trace Wilgus – Texas Athletics, Compliance and Risk Management


Photo by Roy Mata

10 Year Champions
Stephen Freeman – Texas Athletics, Facility Operations
Rachel McGruder – Frank Erwin Center, Events
Lance Prescott – Texas Athletics, Ticket Office
Ken Rucker – Texas Athletics, Football
Marty Stokley – Texas Athletics, Ticket Office
Jamie Streusand – Texas Athletics, Business Office
Nick Voinis – Texas Athletics, Communications
Steve Willgren – Texas Athletics, Creative Services


Photo by Roy Mata

15 Year Champions
Sandy Abney – Texas Athletics, Athletic Performance
Holly Barnes – Texas Athletics, Creative Services
Dreya Johannsen – Texas Athletics, Compliance and Risk Management
Mindy Thompson – Texas Athletics, Compliance and Risk Management


Photo by Roy Mata

20 Year Champions
Connie Clark – Texas Athletics, Softball
Chris Ford – Frank Erwin Center, Events
Joy Lawrence – Texas Athletics, Creative Services
Kelli Saldana – Texas Athletics, Human Resources
Jim Sigmon – Texas Athletics, Creative Services

Chris and Buzz

Photo by Roy Mata

25 Year Champions
Tommy Harmon – Texas Athletics, Longhorn Foundation
Buzz Huber – Frank Erwin Center, Events
Charly Wallace – Frank Erwin Center, Administrative Office

Photo by Roy Mata

30 Year Champions
Letty Bernal – Texas Athletics, Business Office
David Hess – Frank Erwin Center, Texas Box Office
Kathy Toth – Frank Erwin Center, Business Office


Photo by Roy Mata

35 Year Chmapions
William Hill – Frank Erwin Center, Facility Operations
Cande Mejia – Texas Athletics, IT
Tracy Seaton – Texas Athletics, Facility Operations


Photo by Roy Mata
Visit the Frank Erwin Center website to see who's coming, and subscribe to Be the First to Know to get a jump on upcoming pre-sales and ticket giveaways.

Leave A Reply