WWE RAW: Taking the Title

WWE RAW - July 22, 2013 - Frank Erwin Center

There is no prouder moment in a WWE Superstar or Diva’s career than the moment they raise the championship belt over their head, triumphant above all others. Wrestlers perpetually battle for the right to wear the belt, and when WWE Monday Night Raw broadcasts live from the Frank Erwin Center July 22, fans will experience the greatest of champions. Read below to find out more about the different WWE championships and previous wrestlers who have claimed those titles.

WWE Championship

As the premier championship in the WWE empire, the WWE Championship is sought by all Superstars as the pinnacle of their aspirations.  Some of the greatest wrestlers to grace the ring have been crowned WWE Champions, including Hulk Hogan, “Stone Cold” Steve Austin, and The Rock (also known as “The People’s Champion”). Several WWE Champions have opted to personalize their championship belts with customized designs. John Cena famously introduced a belt with a spinning WWE logo on the main plate. In Feb. 2013, a new WWE Championship belt was unveiled, collaboratively designed by WWE Creative Services and Orange County Choppers. The new belt represents an impressive achievement that required countless man-hours and multiple trial and errors, and the end product was an almighty championship belt deserving of only the greatest of WWE Champions.

WWE Tag Team Championship

When facing the likes of The Shield or Team Hell No, a wrestler’s best friend is his partner. Tag teams represent the culmination of advanced teamwork, elite athleticism and expert coordination. The phrase may be that two heads are better than one, but brains do not matter unless a tag team partner can lay the smack down after a successful tag. Communication and trust are vital traits necessary for a successful tag team, for one mistake may cost a shot at the title. The WWE Tag Team Championship has a legacy which includes iconic duos like the Legion of Doom and the British Bulldogs, as well as more recent teams like The Dudley Boyz and Edge and Christian. With a tradition unlike any other title, the WWE Tag Team Championship retains its colorful history of memorable duos and spectacular reigns.

WWE Divas Championship

Originally titled the Women’s Championship, the WWE Divas Championship contests the best female wrestlers in WWE. With Hall of Famers like The Fabulous Moolah, Sensational Sherri and the great Mae Young (competed in eight different decades!) opening the doors for female wrestlers, the road was paved for Kaitlyn, AJ Lee and future WWE Divas to hoist the title. With more Divas advancing through the ranks of the WWE, there will be no shortage of Divas for fans to enjoy.

Champions come in all shapes and sizes. They can be muscular behemoths like Dolph Ziggler, unconventional grapplers like CM Punk, or form unlikely partnerships like Kane and Daniel Bryan of Team Hell No, but they all have something in common: the unstoppable heart and determination of a champion. This is what defines a WWE Champion, and this same fighting spirit will be on display for the world to see at WWE Monday Night Raw July 22 at the Frank Erwin Center.

Buy Tickets
Visit the Frank Erwin Center website to see who's coming, and subscribe to Be the First to Know to get a jump on upcoming pre-sales and ticket giveaways.

Leave A Reply